Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Finally time for an introduction

I stated briefly in my first post on this blog who I am and what I'm all about, but let me set it up a little better for y'all.

My name is Kat Statman. I am a 22 year old (racing age now 23) professional mountain bike racer and first year masters candidate in philosophy at the University of Colorado at Boulder. My racing focus is shorter cross country events (2 - 2.5 hours) but I will be branching out this year and doing some long events and maybe a stage race. In general, I study hard, ride harder, and sleep even harder between school, training, and work. Finally, I recently got engaged to my girlfriend of 4 years, Shannon Mohrman, an awesome girl! Also, I have a 7 month old great pyrenees puppy that requires a lot of attention and a 2 1/2 year old kitten that wants to play the game we call string 24/7.

My story is a little more interesting. I'm from the alabama part of Pennsylvania. Before any of you from the south say that Pennsylvania is a northern state and we have nothing to do with the south, well come on up to where I grew up and you will feel like you are at home. Not to say it wasn't fun and interestin, I love going home, but I crave slightly different cultural venues in my life. The past four years I have been living in the Hudson Vally of New York where I went to school and raced my bike. Now, I am living in Colorado, where I go to school and race my bike, convenient isn't it.

That is pretty much who I am, so check back as I relay stories of some crazy winter rides here in Boulder and of some awesome travels around the country this year.

Thanks for reading.

Here are some photos for you to muse over in the meantime.

No comments: